Skip to main content

The 57 new members of the Class of 2026 begin their terms this summer

(Chapel Hill, N.C.— May 23, 2022) – At this month’s meeting, the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Board of Trustees named 57 alumni and friends to the UNC-Chapel Hill Board of Visitors. Each new member is appointed to a four-year term starting July 1. 

Selected members serve as ambassadors to inform their communities about the University’s priorities and, in turn, educate the University about how it can best serve those communities. The Board is comprised of more than 200 members across the country who actively engage with the UNC-Chapel Hill Board of Trustees and Chancellor Kevin M. Guskiewicz to move Carolina forward. Members also offer their professional expertise and experience while serving on various sub-committees. In that capacity, members share helpful insights into the University and often mentor current students as they navigate their Carolina experience and transition into the workforce. 

Jesse Cureton of Charlotte will serve as chair with Jane Ellison of Wilmington as vice chair. 

The new members are alphabetically listed below by North Carolina counties and by locations outside of North Carolina. 

North Carolina

Alamance County: Cheryl C. Parquet of Mebane

Durham County: Marva L. York of Durham  

Guilford County: Chester Brown, Pearce Landry and David Stone of Greensboro  

Iredell County: Mathew Doherty of Mooresville  

Mecklenburg County: Wille Alston, Angela L. Cureton, Emily W. Harry, Diana Jones, Pavel Molchanov, Kenneth R. Smith III, Caroline Stoneman and Jeremy Swinson of Charlotte; Jonathan Flaspoehler of Huntersville  

Orange County: Theresa L. Clifton, Jonah Garson, Christopher Hoover and Florentine Miller of Chapel Hill 

Sampson County: Shurley Ray McCullen Weddle of Clinton  

Wake County: Mark Cavaliero of Apex; Nathan Edgerly, Jane Ammons Gilchrist, David P. Ferrell, Jeff Nimmer, Roger W. Smith, Jr., Patricia Kornegay-Timmons, Ross Vaughan, Kara Weishaar and Shelley Willingham of Raleigh; Almer Reddick of Zebulon   


David Howell of San Francisco  


Cynthia Crews of Denver  


Marvin Bethune, Hina Patel and Ray Smith of Atlanta; Ann Cox and Peter Schneider of Brookhaven  


Gregory Zeeman of Lake Forest  


Crystal Miller of Indianapolis 


Leigh N. Fry of Olathe  


Sharon Bradley of Chevy Chase; Monica Cloud of Silver Spring; Jennifer E. Manning of Columbia 


Lisa Kang of Boston  

New York

Jerry Bright of Merrick; Lauren Mulholland and Scott Peeler of New York  

South Carolina  

Jim Mabry of Charleston  


Ronald Boatwright of Colleyville; Walter Elcock, III of Dallas  


Bill Keyes, V of Arlington; Lee Ann Brownlee of Great Falls; Bruce Tanous of McLean; Bruce Arnett and Susan Taliaferro of Richmond; Traci Goodwin of Woodbridge  


– Carolina –  


About the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, the nation’s first public university, is a global higher education leader known for innovative teaching, research and public service. A member of the prestigious Association of American Universities, Carolina regularly ranks as the best value for academic quality in U.S. public higher education. Now in its third century, the University offers 77 bachelor’s, 107 master’s, 65 doctorate and seven professional degree programs through 14 schools, including the College of Arts & Sciences. Every day, faculty, staff and students shape their teaching, research and public service to meet North Carolina’s most pressing needs in every region and all 100 counties. Carolina’s more than 340,000 alumni live in all 50 states, the District of Columbia, U.S. Territories and 159 countries. More than 185,000 live in North Carolina

University CommunicationsMedia Relations, 919-445-8555,   

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Comments are closed.